Committees Structure and Agendas

ARTS Calendar FY2018

Three-Committee Structure

The ARTS is made up of the following committees: 

(See Committees and Meeting Agendas for Schedule of each Committee's Meetings)

Policy Committee

The ARTS is under the general policy guidance of the Policy Committee. This committee is responsible for ensuring that future plans are functionally sound, financially feasible, and generally conform with the goals and objectives of the state, region, and local community. The Policy Committee also provides guidance and leadership for implementation.

Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC)

The TCC is charged with the responsibility of reviewing the Study, furnishing progress information to the Policy Committee and the Citizens Advisory Committee, and providing to the Policy Committee technical assistance in assessing the problem of implementing alternative proposals.

The TCC is a committee of technical persons, and its role is to bring together and coordinate all the special skills and training necessary to develop a comprehensive transportation plan. As plans and alternatives are prepared and approved by this committee, they are presented to the respective legislative authorities to gain approval.

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC)

One component of the ARTS public involvement policy, the CAC, is designed to function as an information dissemination and reaction group. Their review of social, economic, and environmental aspects of transportation projects is an important consideration for the Policy and Technical Coordinating Committees in altering and updating the Augusta Regional Transportation Study.

The role of the CAC and the other public involvement activities are significant in the planning process. Community acceptance for conclusions reached in the Study update depends on the effectiveness of the overall public involvement process.

Test Network Subcommittee (TNSC)

Test Network Subcommittee (TNSC) is part of the TCC and meets every quarter or as needed. The subcommittee is established through the ARTS TCC By‐Laws Article IV Section 4 “A sub‐committee structure shall be used as appropriate to bring technical matters to the full committee”. It is made up of local county and city engineers, Augusta Public Transit, Lower Savannah Council of Government, GDOT, and SCDOT. They provide detail information on projects, their status and any changes, and provide their recommendations to the TCC.

South Carolina Policy Sub-Committee (SCPSC)

The South Carolina Policy Subcommittee serves in an advisory capacity to the ARTS Policy Committee, and is responsible for ensuring that the South Carolina portion of ARTS is kept up-to-date. The South Carolina Subcommittee is comprised of local elected officials (voting members), and federal, state and local appointed personnel (nonvoting members) representing the South Carolina part of the study area.  South Carolina Policy Subcommittee – represents local elected and appointed officials for the South Carolina portion of the ARTS MPO. The committee provides endorsement for amendments to the TIP and LRTP. Regular meetings of this committee are held on the first Thursday of each quarter (February, May, August and November at 4:00 p.m. in the Sandlapper Room  of the Aiken County Government Center, 1930 University parkway, Aiken South Carolina  or in any other designated meeting place, provided the location is specified in all notices required by law.