The Augusta Planning Commission shall be comprise of such members as are appointed under Title Eight of the Augusta, Georgia City Code. A liaison may be appointed by the Augusta Commission and the Richmond County Board of Education who shall be ex officio members.

The Planning Commission shall conduct, on behalf of the Augusta Commission, all public hearings on proposed Zoning Petitions, Special Exceptions Petitions and Zoning Amendments to the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance and maps. The Planning Commission makes the final decision on all variances subdivision regulations coming before them.

Members as of January 2023

Name District Term Expires
James O'Neal  1 March 31, 2026
Stephanie Clarke 2 March 31, 2029
George 'Locke' McKnight 3 March 31, 2027
Zelwin Davis 4 March 31, 2029
Douglas W. Prince 5 March 31, 2028
Michael Owens 6 March, 31, 2027
Cleonard 'Sonny' Pittman (Chairman) 7 March 31, 2027
Trisha Mallis 8 March 31, 2023
Jeffrey Pooser (Vice-Chair) 9 March 31, 2025
Donnie Smith 10 March, 31, 2029
Debra Spencer  Legislative 2015 Delegation 2027
Robert Cooks Legislative 2015 Delegation 2027
Ed Lowery Ex-Officio, Richmond County Board of Education  
Catherine Smith-McKnight Ex-Officio, Augusta Commission