2021 Redistricting

Redistricting is the process of redrawing district lines so as to evenly distribute population among the various districts and is done every 10 years following the completion of the Census. The Census data helps to determine the growth or decline in population and to identify the precise areas in which changes have occurred.  In other words, the Census tells us where and by how much the districts are out of balance.  The goal of local redistricting is to re-distribute the population of Augusta-Richmond County evenly between the districts according to the 2020 Census population data.

The Augusta Commission and the Richmond County Board of Education both have 8 single member districts and 2 super districts.  The single member districts are Districts 1 – 8.  The two super districts are Districts 9 and 10.  Super district 9 is comprised of single member districts 1, 2, 4, and 5 and super district 10 is comprised of single member districts 3, 6, 7, and 8.  As such, each citizen is represented by two Commissioners and School Board Members – one from the single member district and one from the super district.  

An Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee has been appointed to perform the task of local redistricting.  The Committee consists of 12 members -  4 members of the Augusta Commission, 4 members of the Board of Education, and 4 members of the Local Legislative Delegation.   The members of the Redistricting Committee are:

Commission Members Board of Education Legislative Delegation
Commissioner Sean Frantom (Chairman) Mrs. Venus Cain (Vice-Chairman) Senator Harold Jones
Commissioner Ben Hasan Mr. Jimmy Atkins Representative Wayne Howard
Commissioner Francine Scott Mr. Charlie Hannah Representative Mark Newton
Commissioner Alvin Mason Mrs. Helen Minchew Representative Brian Prince