2011 Redistricting

Redistricting is the process of redrawing district lines so as to evenly distribute population among the various districts and is done every 10 years following the completion of the Census. The Census data helps to determine the growth or decline in population and the precise areas in which changes have occurred, in other words, the Census tells us where we are out of balance.

The Augusta Commission and the Richmond County Board of Education both have 8 single member districts and 2 super districts (each comprised of 4 single member districts). The districts are numbered 1 – 10. So, the goal of local redistricting is to distribute evenly between the districts Augusta-Richmond County’s population according to the 2010 Census.

An Ad Hoc Redistricting Committee has been created to perform the task of local redistricting. The Committee consists of 4 members of the Augusta Commission, 4 members of the Board of Education, and 4 members of the Legislative Delegation. Members of the Committee are:

Comm. MembersBoard of Education:Legislative Delegation:
Comm. Alvin MasonMr. Marion BarnesSen. Hardie Davis
Comm. Bill LockettMr. Jack PadgettRep. Wayne Howard
Comm. Jerry BrighamMr. Frank DolanRep. Quincy Murphy
Comm. Grady SmithMrs. Venus CainRep. Barbara Sims