Concealed Weapons Permit

A concealed weapons permit is a permit issued to qualified Richmond County Citizens to legally carry a concealed weapon.

Requirements:
To apply for a concealed weapons permit, you must be a resident of Richmond County, Georgia, residing in Richmond County for a minimum of three months. You will need a photo identification (such as a Driver’s license or Georgia ID card) proof of residency and/or proof of legal presence in the U.S. if you are not a U.S. citizen. You must be at least 21 years old. A fee of $79.25 is required prior to making application. We only accept Cash or Money Order made payable to the Probate Court. This fee is not refundable once the application has been completed.

Application Process:
Applications for Concealed Weapons permit must be made during regular business hours, Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM until 3:00 PM. The time involved in completing the application takes approximately 30 minutes, so no application will be commenced after 3:00 PM Monday through Friday.

Court Process:
After completing the Application for a Concealed Weapon Permit, your photograph will be taken and your signature is required. You will then be directed across the hall to the Marshal’s Department to be fingerprinted. You will take the completed application and receipt with you.

After the background check is returned to the Court, the Court determines if you qualify for a permit. You then will be notified to return to Probate Court to pick up your license. If you request that someone else be allowed to pick up your license, that person will have to show their I.D. and sign for the license.

If the Court cannot issue a permit to you based on the background check, you will receive a letter requesting more information about charges on your record. If you are disqualified, you will receive a letter from the Court advising you that you did not qualify for a permit.

Some Restrictions:
  • Felony convictions, unless a pardon is granted restoring the right to possess a gun, or the conviction has been expunged.
  • Drug related convictions, unless probation was completed for at least five years earlier.
  • Domestic or Family Violence convictions or convictions related to family violence.
  • Pending charges, dead docket cases, currently on probation.

Contact Information:
Richmond County Probate Court
John H. Ruffin, Jr., Judicial Center
735 James Brown Blvd. Ste 1000
Augusta, GA 30901
(706) 821-2438
(706) 821-2434