Mayor's Office

Terms & Powers
Augusta-Richmond County, Georgia operates under a Mayor / Commission / Administrator form of government. The Mayor is the Chief Executive of Augusta-Richmond County, Georgia. The Mayor is elected on a county-wide basis by the electors of the entire county in a non-partisan general election. Each mayor serves a four-year term and is eligible to serve two consecutive four-year terms.

Our current mayor, Deke Copenhaver, was elected in 2005 to fill the unexpired term of former Mayor Bob Young. In November 2011 he was re-elected to a four-year term which continues through December 31, 2014.

The Mayor possesses and exercises the following executive and administrative powers and duties:
  • Presiding at all meetings of the Commission
  • Serving as the official head of Richmond County and the City of Augusta for the service of process and for ceremonial purposes
  • Administering oaths and to take affidavits
  • Signing all written contracts entered into by the Commission on behalf of Richmond County Georgia and the City of Augusta and other contracts and instruments executed by the county and city which by law are required to be in writing
  • Ensuring that all laws, ordinances, and resolutions of Richmond County and the City of Augusta are faithfully executed
  • Exercising such other powers and perform such other duties as may be required by ordinance or resolution of the Commission.
View additional responsibilities of the Mayor's Office. 

"Twas the Night Before" - Savannah River Boat Parade
December 5, 2008